This state-of-the-art course will open the door for even more adventures for your group or organization! For more information contact our Camp Director.
Every summer kids and families from all over have the chance to have an adventure! Camp Glen is a place where adventures happen every day in a fun, safe environment that is designed to build community, and help kids (and adults) develop a sense of who they are and what they can become.
Every summer kids and families from all over have the chance to have an adventure! Camp Glen is a place where adventures happen every day in a fun, safe environment that is designed to build community and help kids (and adults) develop a sense of who they are and what they can become.
Camp Glen (for boys and girls) is the summer resident camp for Camp Fire Northwest Ohio with a heritage that dates back to 1959. Nestled in the rolling terrain on the banks of the Sandusky River, Camp Glen offers a summer experience rich in fun, friendship, learning, and adventure. Campers range in age from six to eighteen (Grades K - 12) with Day Camp opportunities for K - 5 and Family Camp for everyone!
Camp Glen was established in 1959 as the summer camp for the No-We-Oh Council of the Camp Fire Girls. Since then the camp has developed into an amazing space dedicated to leadership development of children, youth and adults. Camp Glen is located on the banks of the Sandusky River on some unusually hilly terrain just south of Tiffin Ohio in Seneca County Ohio. The camp offers a variety of activities and options for children youth and adults. Paired with beautiful cabins Camp Glen is the perfect place for your retreat!
Camp Glen offers Summer Resident Camp, as well as for overnight and day events to meet your needs. We serve corporate groups, schools, churches and youth groups of all kinds. We also provide meeting space and group building activities for all types of retreats. We have break out space available for small groups, and can meeting space for up to 200. All of this backed up with customer service that is second to none will make your retreat experience one that everyone will be talking about all year!
The site on which Camp Glen is located was a contribution to the NO-WE-OH Council of Camp Fire Girls made in 1958 by Mrs. O.D. Donnell, Findlay, Ohio. Mrs. Donnell’s first name was Glenna, and the camp was named in her honor. Camp Glen celebrated its first camping season in 1959.
Many buildings were constructed during the first year. The NO-WE-OH Lodge was built with contributions made by the Marathon Oil Company. Funds to build the Director’s Cabin were contributed by Mrs. R.L. Heminger. The Health Cabin and Meadow Cabins were also completed the first year.
Both the swimming pool and “Tent City” were added in 1960. In 1961 the footbridge and the Caretaker’s House were constructed. In 1962 the Equipment Building and the 5th Grade Cabins were built. The Council Fire was added in 1963 along with the Craft Cabin. The Craft Cabin was built as a memorial to Mrs. Aaron Blackford, Council President at the time of her death in 1963. The Rotary Club of Findlay donated funds to furnish and equip the new Craft Cabin. In 1971 the A-Frame was constructed for older girls, and in 1976 the Staff Cabin was built with money bequeathed by H. Barkey Hovis, a council trustee for many years.
The growth and development of Camp Glen continued into the 1980’s and 1990’s with the addition of the tennis courts in 1983 and the purchase of an additional 14 acres in 1988. In 1990, another 17 acres of land were purchased along with two historical houses. These historical structures originally served as the Environmental Education Center and Staff Housing. In 1998 the Stone House was remodeled and now serves as a year-round rental facility. In 1999 the Environmental Education Center was renovated and became the Bunk House, which serves as an additional year-round facility.
Camp Glen programming was expanded in 1991 with the construction of The Challenge Course, a low ropes initiative course. Programming again expanded in 1993 with the development and construction of The Horse Barn, riding arena and grazing pasture. In 1991 boys were included in Day Camp programming and in 1994 with the construction of The Outback (boys area), coed overnight camping at Camp Glen for all ages became reality. Also in 1994, two new boardwalks were built; one leading to the boys area, and the other spanning the wetlands below the Bunk House.
In 1995, campers and parents were greeted in the newly remodeled Director’s Cabin upon registration. In 1998 campers arrived at the Meadow Cabins to find new beds and remodeled restrooms. Also in 1998 Schmidt Copeland Parker Stevens, an architectural firm from Cleveland completed a study and presented the plan for relocating and adding facilities. The plan outlines the general arrangement and location of the development areas, programs, service, and nature amenities. The master plan implements the goals and objectives to provide structures and activity area required to expand and improve the year round opportunities. The plan is designed to take advantage of the buildable areas of the 138 acres while maintaining large areas of natural terrain and vegetation.
In October 1999 the original well needed to be replaced and after work began it became apparent that 3 new wells would be needed for Camp Glen. In the sprint of 2000 the entry road to Camp Glen was renovated as well as realigning the entry look and creating new parking areas and a new service road. The swimming pool, which was built at the edge of the ravine, has been slowly moving toward the ravine due to natural soil erosion. The pool is to be relocated and a new shower house constructed during the first phase of the plan.
In 2009, Camp Glen celebrated its 50th with an alumni reunion and dedication of a meditation labyrinth. In 2010, construction was begun on a picnic shelter that to be utilized during the summer camp season.
In 2014, construction was completed on a brand new High Ropes Course. This course is was undertaken to add more adventure challenge opportunities for summer resident campers, and also to build another level into the team building program that Camp Fire’s Camp Glen has been become known for in the community. This construction also changed the old “Cook’s Cabin” into modern handicap accessible restrooms. In the fall of 2014, the flooring in the office, retreat center, and stone house were also updated to remove carpeting and install more durable flooring. Part of this transformation was uncovering original wood floors and restoring them in the stone house. Another change was new railing for the stone house balcony.
Although many changes have taken place during the first 50 years of Camp Glen, and many more are planned for the future, one thing has remained the same . . . A strong commitment to serving the needs of children. The years to come will surely bring with them their own unique changes, but the commitment to children, youth, and families will remain the same!